Home  |  View Shipping Costs  |  View Shopping Cart  


 "Modern Jazz Quartet, Concorde" - Product Image
Click for larger image

"Modern Jazz Quartet, Concorde"

The first Modern Jazz Quartet sessions recorded for release as a 12-inch LP also featured the debut of Connie Kay, who replaced Kenny Clarke on drums. The expanded recording time afforded by the new configuration allowed the group to put together a program approximating a live performance: "Ralph's New Blues" leads off, a showcase for the easy-swinging soul of vibraphonist Milt Jackson and the ever-elegant fulcrum of the quartet, pianist John Lewis. Percy Heath sets down an eloquent walking bass pattern or repeats the melody in a rondo format, while Kay adds subtle pulse and appropriat punctuation. Lewis and Jackson also display remarkable empathy on the ballads "All of You" and "Softly as in a Morning Sunrise." The sprightly set-closing title track employs all of the unit's strengths. Track Listings 1. Ralph's New Blues 2. All Of You 3. I'll Remember April 4. Gershwin Medley 5. Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise 6. Concorde
SKU Number: DOLP 7005
Price: $24.99