Home  |  View Shipping Costs  |  View Shopping Cart  


"Brian Wilson, Gettin' In Over My Head (2 LPs)" - Product Image
Click for larger image

"Brian Wilson, Gettin' In Over My Head (2 LPs)"

Gettin' in Over My Head is Brian Wilson's seventh solo album, and third of new studio material. It was recorded over several years and, making use of many previously written songs never before released, was issued in mid-2004 on Rhino Records. Featuring celebrity guests, such as Paul McCartney, Elton John, Eric Clapton and the late Carl Wilson, Gettin' in Over My Head received satisfactory reviews upon release but was not commercially successful. In his first ever collaboration with Brian Wilson, pop art icon and Sgt. Pepper artist Sir Peter Blake created the cover art and assigned 2004 Smile artist Mark London to art direct the rest of the package. Most tracks from the album were not new material, but rather a collection of older, unreleased tracks and riffs from the past. The tracks "Make a Wish", "Fairy Tale", "Rainbow Eyes" and "Don't Let Her Know She's an Angel" are re-recorded songs from Wilson's 1990/1991 sessions from the abandoned Sweet Insanity; the lyrics to "Rainbow Eyes" were also slightly rewritten to remove the words "sweet insanity" with the replaced "sweet conspiracy". The track "Desert Drive" is based around riffs over 40 years old. Furthermore, with the concurrent live performances of the recently completed Smile album, and the announcement of its impending issue on CD, it completely overshadowed Gettin' in Over My Head's release, with all attention going to the former. The album reached number 100 in the US during a chart stay of 1 week. It also reached number 53 in the UK. Track listing 1."How Could We Still Be Dancin'?" (Brian Wilson, Joe Thomas) - 4:42 Featuring Elton John on lead vocals 2."Soul Searchin'" (Brian Wilson, Andy Paley) - 4:07 Recorded by The Beach Boys in 1996, but discarded. This version features Carl Wilson on lead vocals 3."You've Touched Me" (Brian Wilson, Steve Kalinich) - 3:21 4."Gettin' in Over My Head" (Brian Wilson, Andy Paley) - 4:27 5."City Blues" (Brian Wilson, Scott Bennett) - 4:20 Features Eric Clapton on electric guitar 6."Desert Drive" (Brian Wilson, Andy Paley) - 3:34 7."A Friend Like You" (Brian Wilson, Steve Kalinich) - 3:37 Features Paul McCartney on co-lead vocal 8."Make a Wish" (Brian Wilson) - 3:49 9."Rainbow Eyes" (Brian Wilson) - 4:06 10."Saturday Morning In The City" (Brian Wilson, Andy Paley) - 2:53 11."Fairy Tale" (Brian Wilson, David Foster) - 5:28 12."Don't Let Her Know She's an Angel" (Brian Wilson) - 4:17 13."The Waltz" (Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks) - 4:09 Tracks 8, 9, 12 and 13 originally recorded for the scrapped Sweet Insanity album in 1990/1991. Personnel Brian Wilson - Keyboards, Piano, Producer and Lead Vocals Additional Musicians Scott Bennett - Guitar, Bass, Percussion, Vibraphone and Background Vocals Eric Clapton - Lead Guitar on "City Blues" Amy Farris - Viola and Violin Jeffrey Foskett - Guitar and Background Vocals Probyn Gregory - French Horn, Guitar, Keyboards, Trombone and Trumpet Jim Hines - Drums and Percussion Sandra Jensen - Violin Elton John - Piano and Vocals on "How Could We Still Be Dancin" Peter Kent - Violin Greg Leisz - Guitar Bob Lizik - Bass Paul McCartney - Acoustic Guitar and Vocals on "A Friend Like You" Paul Mertens - Clarinet, Flute, Harmonica and Saxophone Andy Paley - Percussion and Background Vocals Michael Rhodes - Bass Carol Robbins - Harp Darian Sahanaja - Keyboards, Percussion, Piano, Vibraphone and Background Vocals Rudolph Stein - Cello Todd Sucherman - Drums and Percussion Joe Thomas - Keyboards Nick Walusko - Guitar Carl Wilson - Vocals on "Soul Searchin
SKU Number: DOLP 76471
Price: $49.99