Home  |  View Shipping Costs  |  View Shopping Cart  


"Tears For Fears, Songs From The Big Chair" - Product Image
Click for larger image

"Tears For Fears, Songs From The Big Chair"

Classic Analog Out Of Print LP Pressing w/ small cut out in cover. TEARS FOR FEARS - SONG FROM THE BIG CHAIR - original RELEASE pressing. TWENTY YEARS OUT OF PRINT. Out of Print FACTORY SEALED Analog LP with small cutout on jacket both out of print for decades. Track listing 1. Shout 2. Working Hour, The 3. Everybody Wants to Rule the World 4. Mothers Talk 5. I Believe 6. Broken 7. Head Over Heels / Broken 8. Listen 9. Shout - (Extended mix, bonus track) 10. Everybody Wants to Rule the World - (Extended mix, bonus track) Tears For Fears: Roland Orzabal (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards); Curt Smith (vocals, bass); Ian Stanley (keyboards); Manny Elias (drums). Additional personnel includes: Neil Taylor (guitar); William Taylor, Mel Collins (saxophone); Andy Davis (piano); Chris Hughes, Jerry Marotta (drums); Marilyn Davis, Annie McCaig, Sandy McLelland (background vocals). Producers: Chris Hughes, Ian Stanley, Tears For Fears. Compilation producer: Mike Gill. Includes liner notes by Sean Egan. Although the opening track, "Shout," takes on the theme of catharsis that dominated THE HURTING two years earlier, the progression evident from that debut to SONGS FROM THE BIG CHAIR is manifest in every other facet. While many of the band's synth-pop peers continued to develop along a linear route, Tears For Fears vaulted into the potentially insipid world of '80s MOR. Curt Smith sings on the radio-friendly "Everybody Wants to Rule the World," but Roland Orzabal's stronger voice takes center-stage for much of the album, including the spirited single "Mother's Talk" and a falsetto on the stadium-sized "Head Over Heels." "The Working Hour" is the perfect realization of the new sound: a smooth six-minute arrangement of saxophone, piano, and guitar that's marked by a restrained sense of drama. SONGS FROM THE BIG CHAIR is an excellent album and, shading Simple Minds' ONCE UPON A TIME, arguably the finest example of epic '80s pop. The 1998 remastered edition includes seven bonus tracks.
SKU Number: DOLP MERC824300
Price: $39.99