Home  |  View Shipping Costs  |  View Shopping Cart  


"Allman Brothers, Idelwild South - 180 Gram - MFSL Factory Sealed" - Product Image
Click for larger image

"Allman Brothers, Idelwild South - 180 Gram - MFSL Factory Sealed"

ALLMAN BROTHERS IDLEWILD SOUTH - MFSL 180 Gram Heavy Vinyl Sealed LP - Half-speed Production and Mastering by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab specially plated and pressed on 180 grams of High Definition Vinyl. Mastered from the Original Master Tape and Manufactured by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab on the GAIN 2 ULTRA ANALOG SYSTEM by Krieg Wunderlilch - Special static free/dust free Inner Sleeve - Heavy Duty Protective Packaging with Liner Notes by Dill Dahl. This LP captures the incredible realism and presence in the listening experience without the annoyance of surface noise, distortion, hiss and disc warpage. The sophomore release from America's sovereign Southern rock band, the Allman Brothers' Idlewild South is easily their greatest studio album. Unlike the band's labyrinthine live shows, which are distinguished by their immense, walloping swamp rock, this album focuses on the considerable songwriting capabilities of Gregg Allman and Dickey Betts. Showcasing the original lineup, before multiple tragedies began taking their toll on the band; the lightning slide guitar of Duane Allman, the vocals and Hammond B-3 of his brother Greg Allman, lead guitarist Dickey Betts, bassist Berry Oakley and the thunderous drum tandem of Butch Trucks and Jaimoe Johanson, this album lays bare their talent for weaving disparate but distinctly Southern elements of rock, gospel, soul, jazz and R&B into a cohesive and original whole. Idlewild South is the second album of The Allman Brothers Band, released in 1970. Unlike the band's debut album, Idlewild South enjoyed some popular success as well as critical enthusiasm, mostly due to what Rolling Stone magazine called "briefer, tighter, less 'heavy' numbers" which were more radio-friendly. The two most prominent of these were "Midnight Rider" and "Revival", the latter of which, in conjunction with the instrumental "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed" (which would become one of the Allmans' most famed concert numbers), foreshadowed the impact of Dickey Betts' songwriting ability upon the band. The album was named after a ranch they frequently visited in Georgia, whose name in turn was originally a reference to New York City's Idlewild Airport. "Midnight Rider" has been featured in soundtracks for The Devil's Rejects and Unbreakable. Gregg Allman also rerecorded the song for his solo album Laid Back. In addition, it was sampled for rap rocker Kid Rock's song "Cowboy," a single from the album Devil Without a Cause in 1998. Side one "Revival" (Dickey Betts) - 4:05 "Don't Keep Me Wonderin'" (Gregg Allman) - 3:31 "Midnight Rider" (Gregg Allman) - 2:59 "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed" (Dickey Betts) - 6:56 Side two "(I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man" (Willie Dixon) - 4:57 "Please Call Home" (Gregg Allman) - 4:02 "Leave My Blues at Home" (Gregg Allman) - 4:17 Personnel Gregg Allman - vocals, piano, organ Duane Allman - lead, slide, and acoustic guitar Dickey Betts - lead guitar Berry Oakley - bass guitar, vocals on "Hoochie Coochie Man", and harmony vocals on "Midnight Rider" Butch Trucks - drums Jai Johnny "Jaimoe" Johanson - drums, congas guest Thom "Ace" Doucette - harmonica and tambourine
SKU Number: *
Price: $69.99