Home  |  View Shipping Costs  |  View Shopping Cart  


"Brian Auger, Here & Now - OBI Mini Replica LP In a CD - Japanese" - Product Image
Click for larger image

"Brian Auger, Here & Now - OBI Mini Replica LP In a CD - Japanese"

Artist: Brian Auger Release Date: Jun 02, 2006 Format: CD Record Label: JVC Victor UPC: 4582213910445 Genre: Rock Duration: Album or EP Sub-Genre: -- Special Attributes: Import, Remastered, Special Edition Track listing 1. Hurricane, The 2. Call Me 3. Downtown Hookup 4. Heart of the Hunter 5. Seeker, The 6. They Say Nothing Lasts Forever 7. Happiness Is Just Around the Bend 8. Let's Keep This Love Together 9. Brian 10. Night Train to Nowhere - (bonus track) 11. Downtown Hookup - (demo version) 12. Searchin For Your Love - (demo version) 13. You're Breaking My Heart - (demo version) Distributor: MSI Music Distribution Recording type: Studio Recording mode: Stereo Whether he was clear or not in his vision only he can say, but Here and Now sounds like the effort of an artist who has lost his way. While Auger can't really be blamed for the sound of this recording, it still doesn't weather well because of its sheeny 1980s sound (it was originally released in 1984). The faux disco tunes that seem to be swinging for some sort of pop fence (though this sound had already been history for five years by 1984), are empty of real emotion, and filled instead with female backing vocalists to add that edge they so sorely lack. The only place where this isn't true is on the instrumentals, such as "Heart of the Hunter," where the trademark Auger exploratory consciousness is roving the musical landscape in search of knotty harmonics and altered cadences in his solos. The album did net a hit single in "Happiness Is Just Around the Corner," but unfortunately, it doesn't hold up well over time. While this album is a big miss, it certainty was a momentary lapse. Auger's career as an innovator and inspiration continues into the 21st century with fine recordings and legendary live shows. ~ Thom Jurek
SKU Number: *
Price: $64.99