Home  |  View Shipping Costs  |  View Shopping Cart  


"Joni Mitchell, Wild Things Run Fast - MFSL Mint Gold CD" - Product Image
Click for larger image

"Joni Mitchell, Wild Things Run Fast - MFSL Mint Gold CD"

MFSL 24K GOLD CD. "Wild Things Run Fast" is for Joni Mitchell fans. Track listing 1. Chinese Cafe / Unchained Melody 2. Wild Things Run Fast 3. Ladies' Man 4. Moon At The Window 5. Solid Love 6. Be Cool 7. Baby, I Don't Care (You're So Square) 8. You Dream Flat Tires 9. Man To Man 10. Underneath The Streetlight 11. Love Details Playing time: 36 min. Contributing artists: James Taylor, Larry Carlton, Larry Williams, Lionel Richie, Mike Landau, Russell Ferrante, Steve Lukather, Wayne Shorter Producer: Joni Mitchell Distributor: n/a Recording type: Studio Recording mode: Stereo SPAR Code: ADD Album notes Personnel: Joni Mitchell (vocals, piano, guitar); Kim Hutchcroft (baritone saxophone); Larry Klein (bass); John Guerin (drums, background vocals); Vinnie Colaiuta (drums); Victor Feldman (percussion); James Taylor, Steve Lukather, Wayne Shorter, Lionel Richie, Russell Ferrante, Larry Carlton, Mike Landau, Larry Williams. Background vocals: Charles Valentino, Howard Kinney, Kenny Rankin, Robert De La Garza, Skip Cottrell. Engineers: Henry Lewy, Skip Cottrell, Jerry Hudgins. All songs written by Joni Mitchell except "(You're So Square) Baby, I Don't Care" (Jerry Lieber/Mike Stoller) and "Unchained Melody" (Hy Zaret/Alex North). The Joni Mitchell of the early '80s settled into a mature, adult-contemporary sound that was often a turn-off to her folk/pop following. Many dismissed Mitchell's use of L.A. session musicians and jazz inflections as superficial and flashy. As 1982's WILD THINGS RUN FAST proves, nothing could be further from the truth. Mitchell's compositional skills are as sharp as ever. Her dusky vocals are deftly supported by a group of exceptional players producing a sound that is glossy but full of depth as Mitchell's rich lyrics find a comfortable space in this contemporary setting. The opening "Chinese Cafe" is vintage Joni; a reminiscence of youth through the haunting tones of "Unchained Melody." The driving title track is a refined rocker that Mitchell handles in her signature style. The swinging "Moon At The Window" is a dark blues with guest Wayne Shorter (sax) adding a colorful accompaniment to Mitchell's layered vocals. On a lighter note, the stylized cover of "(You're So Square) Baby, I Don't Care" is a nice departures that make this record a treat. The biggest standout has to be "You Dream Flat Tires," a dynamic shuffle with one of the most complex arrangements that Mitchell has ever recorded.
SKU Number: *
Price: $149.99