Home  |  View Shipping Costs  |  View Shopping Cart  


"Mel Torme & Buddy Rich, Together Again For The First Time - Sealed MFSL Gold CD" - Product Image
Click for larger image

"Mel Torme & Buddy Rich, Together Again For The First Time - Sealed MFSL Gold CD"

Together Again--For The First Time Gold Disc CD Track listing 1. Blues In The Night 2. Here's That Rainy Day 3. Lady Be Good 4. Bluesette 5. When I Found You 6. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life 7. You Are My Sunshine 8. I Won't Last A Day Without You Details Producer: Norman Schwartz Distributor: n/a Recording type: Studio Recording mode: Stereo SPAR Code: n/a Album notes Personnel: Mel Torme (vocals); Buddy Rich (drums); Phil Woods (alto saxophone); Chuck Wilson, Alan Gauvin, Steve Marcus, Gary Pribek, Greg Smith (saxophone); Chuck Schmidt, Dean Pratt, John Marshall, Dave Kennedy (trumpet); John Mosca, Dale Kirkland, Dave Boyle (trombone); Tony Price (tuba); Hank Jones (piano); Tom Warrington (bass). Recorded at RCA Studios, New York, New York in January 1978. Includes liner notes by Leonard Feather, Mel Torme, Buddy Rich, Norman Schwarz and Glen Glancy. Fans of Mel Torme and Buddy Rich (and of the album they recorded together in 1975) will rejoice to know that TOGETHER AGAIN FOR THE FIRST TIME, which pairs the Velvet Fog with Buddy Rich's Orchestra, was finally issued on CD in 2006. The mode is big band swing with pop leanings, and while Torme doing Stevie Wonder's "You Are the Sunshine of My Life" might seem a bit odd, who's complaining when Torme is in such fine voice? "Blues in the Night" and Torme's tribute to the great Ella Fitzgerald on a modified version of "Oh, Lady Be Good" are the disc highlights, and fans of Rich's drumming won't be disappointed with the bandleader's fine solo spots.
SKU Number: UCD 592
Price: $329.99