Home  |  View Shipping Costs  |  View Shopping Cart  


"Procol Harum, Broken Barricades - Mini LP Replica in a CD (with OBI Sash)" - Product Image
Click for larger image

"Procol Harum, Broken Barricades - Mini LP Replica in a CD (with OBI Sash)"

Procol Harum Broken Barricades OBI Mini Replica LP in a CD This is a Japanese re-mastered Mini LP replica Limited Edition Collection - only 2,000 Collector pieces made world-wide and are immediately Out of Print. Recorded from the finest Original Masters available. Comes with anti-static sleeves similar to Vinyl LPs, Cardboard packaging like the original LP, re-sealable plastic wrap cases for protection of the collectible and include extensive Liner Notes Booklet. Actual miniaturized version of the 12" LP in 4" CD version. It is hard to say that one Procol Harum album is a higher grade of "5 stars" than another, because most of their albums attain that lofty status. To me, there are five distinct periods in the evolution of the band. Broken Barricades marks the end of their second period and also the end of an era with the subsequent departure of guitarist Robin Trower who was instrumental in giving the second period its harder sound. On Broken Barricades, the usual songwriting team of Gary Brooker and Keith Reid continues at center stage, but with diminished presence. My favorites from that team include the brutal Simple Sister on which Trower plays full throttle, the inscrutable title cut, the suggestive Luskus Delph, and the opaque classic Playmate of the Mouth. Fans of drummer BJ Wilson will thrill to Power Failure. And Trower teams up with Reid to put his stamp on three cuts, the best by far of which is the soaring Song For A Dreamer. Trower has often been accused of aping Jimi Hendrix, but Trower's style was in formation before Hendrix was well known, so I for one do not agree with that charge. It is true that Trower admired Hendrix, and Song For A Dreamer is Trower's tribute to him. If you are a fan of Procol Harum on any level, this well-done remaster of a classic album deserves a place in your CD rotation. If this is your first taste of the band, I say buy this while it is still available and check out the band's other great albums. Track Listings 1. Simple Sister 2. Broken Barricades 3. Memorial Drive 4. Luskus Delph 5. Power Failure 6. Song for a Dreamer 7. Playmate of the Mouth 8. Poor Mohammed
SKU Number: *
Price: $59.99