Home  |  View Shipping Costs  |  View Shopping Cart  


"Ultravox, Set of 3 OBI Mini Replica LP In A CD - ST, Ha!Ha!Ha! & Systems of Romance" - Product Image
Click for larger image

"Ultravox, Set of 3 OBI Mini Replica LP In A CD - ST, Ha!Ha!Ha! & Systems of Romance"

ULTRAVOX - Self Titled OBI Artist: Ultravox Release Date: Jul 13, 2006 Format: CD Record Label: Universal Distribution UPC: 4988005432964 Genre: Rock Duration: Album or EP Sub-Genre: New Wave Special Attributes: Import, Remastered, Special Edition Detailed item info Track listing 1. Saturday Night in the City of the Dead City 2. Life at Rainbow's End (For All the Tax Exiles on Main Street) 3. Slip Away 4. I Want to Be a Machine 5. Wide Boys 6. Dangerous Rhythm 7. Lonely Hunter, The 8. Wild the Beautiful & The Damned, The 9. My Sex 10. Slip Away (Live) (Bonus Track) - (live) 11. Modern Love (Live) (Bonus Track) - (live) 12. Wild the Beautiful & The Damned, The (Live) (Bonus Track) - (live) 13. My Sex (Live) (Bonus Track) - (live) Details Distributor: MSI Music Distribution Recording type: Studio Recording mode: Stereo SPAR Code: n/a Album notes Depeche Mode claimed to be punks with synthesizers, but it was Ultravox! who first showed the kind of dangerous rhythms that keyboards could create. The quintet certainly had their antecedents -- Hawkwind, Roxy Music, and Kraftwerk to name but a few, but still it was the group's 1977 eponymous debut's grandeur (courtesy of producer Eno), wrapped in the ravaged moods and lyrical themes of collapse and decay that transported '70s rock from the bloated pastures of the past to the futuristic dystopias predicted by punk. Epic tales of alienation, disillusion, and disintegration reflected the contemporary holocaust of Britain's collapse, while accurately prophesying the dance through society's cemetery and the graveyards of empires that were to be the Thatcher/Reagan years. "Saturday Night in the City of the Dead," "Wide Boys," "The Wild, the Beautiful and the Damned," "Dangerous Rhythm," and "Slip Away" all simultaneously bemoaned and celebrated the destruction of Western culture while swaggering boldly through the wreckage; "I Want to Be a Machine" and "My Sex" warned of and yearned for technology's triumph. And it was these apposites and didactic emotions that so pierced the zeitgeist of the day, and kicked open a whole new world of synthesized music. Dangerous rhythms indeed. ~ Dave Thompson HA! HA! HA! - Track listing 1. Rockwrok 2. Frozen Ones 3. Fear in the Western World 4. Distant Smile 5. Man Who Dies Every Day 6. Artificial Life 7. While I'm Still Alive 8. Hiroshima Mon Amour 9. Young Savage (Single Version) (Bonus Track) 10. Man Who Dies Everyday, The (Remix) (Bonus Track) - (Remix) 11. Hiroshima Mon Amour (Alternate Version) (Bonus Track) - (remix, alternate take) 12. Quirks (Bonus Track) 13. Man Who Dies Everyday, The (Live) (Bonus Track) - (remix, live) 14. Young Savage (Live) (Bonus Track) - (live) Distributor: MSI Music Distribution Recording type: Studio Recording mode: Stereo HA!-HA!-HA! is a bruising album, a tsunami of a set that epitomized the fire and fury of its age. Icy to its core, the disc was produced by Steve Lillywhite, who brilliantly captured both the band's urgency and the brittleness of their sound. Like the implosion of gases that ignited the Big Bang, HA!-HA!-HA! hangs in the millisecond before the ensuing explosion, trembling with ferocious tension and fierce anticipation of the coming storm. Much of the set seems frozen in this moment in time and space, lyrically reflected in "Hiroshima Mon Amour," "Man Who Dies Every Day," and "Frozen Ones." Unlike the celebration of destruction that defined their debut set, Ultravox now stood staring aghast into the abyss, with the manic exuberance of "Rockwrock" emerging not as the exhilarating dance through the death of civilization that many listeners assumed, but the band's panicked response to its collapse. And as fear took hold in the Western world, the band battered themselves against its crumbling walls, ravaged by the artificiality of the society rising amongst its ruins. Even decades on, the sheer ferocity of this set continues to impress. SYSTEMS OF ROMANCE - COLLECTORS NOTE: SOME T Track listing 1. Slow Motion 2. I Can't Stay Long 3. Someone Else's Clothes 4. Blue Light 5. Some of Them 6. Quiet Men 7. Dislocation 8. Maximum Acceleration 9. When You Walk Through Me 10. Just For a Moment 11. Cross Fade (Bonus Track) 12. Quiet Men (Bonus Track) Details Distributor: MSI Music Distribution Recording type: Studio Recording mode: Stereo Album notes With 1978's SYSTEMS OF ROMANCE, Ultravox! left punk behind and single-handedly blue-printed the entire New Romantic movement to come (with a little help from co-producers Conny Planck and Dave Hutchins). Gone was the brittleness of HA!-HA!-HA!, replaced by a rich lushness of sound that would define the forthcoming genre. Shifting from the political to the inter-personal, gone too was the overwhelming sense of looming Armageddon, replaced by more generalized feelings of alienation, "Dislocation," and unease. "Quiet Men" is a Lowry painting brought to life, the chorus of "Slow Motion" a swaying field painted by Renoir, "I Can't Stay Long" a Degas ballet, while "Maximum Acceleration" is as lavish in sound as Botticelli was with paint. The rhythms still remained dangerous, however, and Robin Simon's guitar gives the set a tough edge, but it's the swirling, swooping synths and keyboards that predominate within.
SKU Number: *
Price: $344.99